The basis of good health: “We are what we eat”

The basis of Ayurvedic nutrition is to eat healthy food depending on your constitution. Ayurveda explains that food should be eaten with attention and gratitude, and that it should be fresh, of the highest quality, digestible, lovingly prepared and satisfying to your senses. Ayurveda offers a balanced approach to prepare, eat and digest your food based on your unique type of body and mind or Dosha, as well as the time of day, the season, your life cycle and where you live.

According to Ayurveda, foods and herbs are classified by their taste, general qualities and how they affect the Elemental Doshas (mental body combinations) of Vata, Pitta and Kapha. Vata is made of air and ether. Vata is light, cold, dry, rough, clear and mobile. Pitta is made of fire and water. Pitta is light, hot, humid / greasy, clear, clear and mobile. Kapha is made of water and earth. Kapha is heavy, cool, moist, soft, dense and static. The six flavors that are recognized in Ayurveda are sweet, sour, salty, bitter, spicy and astringent. Each flavor has associated qualities that will increase or decrease the Doshas. As an example; the sweet is heavy, the acid is moist, the salty is warm, the bitter is cold, the hot is hot and the astringent is dry.

Ayurveda proposes that the six tastes be included in each meal in equilibrium proportions of the Doshas. According to Ayurveda, if your food consists of the six flavors, your brain and your body communicate in a way that helps efficient digestion and leaves you satisfied. Adequate digestion leads to a good assimilation of nutrients and satisfaction reduces food cravings and overfeeding. By spraying specific Dosha condiments, in your meal you can be sure that you are receiving all six flavors at once.

Ayurveda teaches us that your food should attract, not only your sense of taste, but also your sense of sight, smell, touch and sound. Digestion begins with the production of enzymatic saliva in the mouth and it is their sensory organs that stimulate this mouth-watering process. When you use a variety of foods and spices that are tasty, aromatic and visually appealing with a variety of colors and textures, it enhances your dining experience and provides you with a wide range of nutrients.

The dietary practices in Ayurveda foster a conscious way of life. Ayurveda is a way of embracing food as a life-giving energy and a way of understanding how your individual nature and the influences around you determine how well your food will serve you. Ayurveda explains that your dietary needs and your digestion are affected by the rhythms of nature and the changes that occur in your life. Living an Ayurvedic lifestyle is making food choices that are based not only on your original Dosha, but on the quality of the food, the current season and its location. Example: the influence of a hot, heavy, damp day can be balanced with a fresh, light, dry salad with green leaves. The time of day also has its influence according to Ayurveda. From 10:00 a.m. at 2:00 p.m. is the period dominated by Pitta (fire and water) and is considered the best time of day to eat your biggest and most complex food, since your digestive fire or Agni is stronger. The life cycle is another determining factor in conscious feeding. As we get older we enter Vata time (air and ether) of our lives, Agni can weaken and vital tissues become drier. By eating smaller, more frequent, warm, moist and nutrient-rich foods, such as hearty soups, you can maintain a balanced state of health.

As a practice based on science and spirit, Ayurveda encourages you to prepare and eat your food in a peaceful, loving and pleasant environment; and greet your food with reverence, recognizing its source with gratitude.

You have to eat consciously and gratefully as a way to live healthy and happy.

Six flavors:
The main principle of Ayurveda is the incorporation of the six flavors in food, in all meals, at least in the main meal. The six flavors, sweet, sour, salty, spicy, astringent and bitter, have their own health benefits. The six flavors in a meal not only make food tastes more tasty, but it also makes it very healthy.

Eat according to the constitution:
We are made of a combination of five elements of the universe, earth, water, air, fire and sky! The combination of these elements, called Doshas, ​​influences the physical and emotional features of each human being. You must eat according to your constitution, to maintain balance in your body.

Sattvic meal:
The foods are divided into three groups in Ayurveda, Sattvic, Tamasic and Rajasic. While third groups do not hurt and are not good for health, tamasic foods are not healthy. Sattvic foods made with whole ingredients and fresh products are light, easy to digest, less greasy, easy to cook and impart refreshment. Ayurveda always recommends eating Sattvic foods for vitality.

Avoid tamasic foods:
These foods have negative qualities such as arrogance, laziness, pessimism, criminal mind, etc. Toxic foods like drinks carbonated, foods cooked with artificial preservatives and chemicals, alcohol, etc. they are tamasic foods.

Balanced food:
The Ayurvedic principles of eating never forbid eating any food group. On the contrary, he insists on eating well-balanced foods that satisfy all the needs of the body and mind. There is no prohibition against eating cheese or ghee or fats and carbohydrates. The combination of all the nutrients makes the food balanced in terms of nutrition and flavor.

Seasonal foods:
It is crucial to synchronize with natural changes as the seasonal routine influences the body and mind. Called as Ritucharya, the seasonal changes, the Ayurvedic principles of eating insist on eating seasonal foods to keep health intact. What are seasonal foods? The answer is simple. Any type of fruits and vegetables that are available in abundance and at affordable prices are seasonal foods. For example, mango and watermelon in summer, sugar cane in winter, etc. Eating foods out of season causes digestive problems.

Ayurvedic principles speak of eating a variety of foods. The incorporation of the six flavors in a meal brings variety automatically.

Flavors and Aroma:
No other food or diet regimen other than Ayurveda can provide you with tasty foods. A simple dish can be mixed with various herbs and made quite delicious. Each meal can be flavored in many ways. Flavors in this context does not mean artificial flavoring or chemical products, but fresh or ground or dried herbs. To name a few, black pepper, cardamom, ginger: raw and dried, fennel seeds, oregano and many more. You can make more than 10,000 varieties of tea with Ayurvedic herbs.

Eat carefully: You must control the amount of food. Too much nectar becomes poison.

Fresh: Fresh food is another basic principle of Ayurvedic food. Eating fresh foods only means cooking with fresh ingredients, but never allow frozen, packaged and stored food. In addition, it eliminates the intake of reheated foods. If you cook now, eat it now.

Always try to cook with natural utensils and avoid utensils with chemical infusions.

How it is cooked:
The psychological effects of the person who cooks the food are reflected in the taste of the food. If you cook with love, care and affection, the most delicious foods in the world come out.

Follow these simple regimens to achieve optimal health.